moby has a shrimp dick

Faces in the Crowd by Valeria Luiselli depicts a woman living in Mexico City with her husband and children, writing a novel about a woman living in New York City. It is not clear whether this story is the past life of the writer, or if these memories are just fictitious creations. Just like the woman living in Mexico City, the character which very well may have been her past self, is writing about a Mexican poet, Gilbert Owens. The lines between what is real and what is just the writer’s creation become blurred when portions of Owens’s own writings are parallel to what the narrator is choosing to commit to paper.

The first detail that interested me about this novel, was the meaning of the * and paragraph divisions. At first, I thought it had to do with the separation of ideas or time skips, but then eventually realized it was the switch between the writer and her work. I was impressed with the author’s ability to maintain a cohesive and clear depiction of both stories, despite the switching back and forth. At no point was I getting lost between both narratives.

The narrator seemed to be escaping into this previous life of hers (maybe real life?) by escaping sleep and time with her family to write about the memories and characters of her past life. She seemed almost envious of the time and excitement that was her past, which is in great contrast to the boring and habitual nature of her current life in Mexico City. The author barely has the time to get away from her children and husband, to spend on her writing. She depicts the time with her family (in my eyes) to be boring, and repetitive. Unlike the story she is writing, which is filled with socializing and exciting stories at bars or having sex with characters of the past.

The big question in my mind is if the story she is writing is real, or how much of it is? I find it hard to believe that it is either entirely not real, or completely real. The unlikely coincidence that what Owen wanted to write about happens to be exactly the life of the narrator, leads me to believe that this story cannot be 100% real. At the same time, the hiding of the true nature of her characters like Moby from her husband, shows me the narrator has some truths she wants to hide. So I believe the narrator is creating a mixture of truth and fiction.

Discussion Question: Do you think the coincidence of what Owen wanted to write, and the life of the narrator is just luck? Or do you think there is a twisting of truth to perhaps make the story more cohesive?
-Rhys

4 responses to “moby has a shrimp dick”

  1. Rhys, it is assumed that she is writing about her past but I appreciate you questioning the intricacies, I think you definitely have space to defend that reading of the book. I liked that you commented on the * division on the page. I agree with you about it beinng very well divided and written. She is very intentional with the narrative. I also really liked the idea of writing as a form of escape. So many good points, the one about whether the narrators are trustworthy or writing from character rather than from an author perspective is fascinating!

    Thanks for your comment!

    • Tesi

    Like

  2. Nice post! I thought that she was writing about her past, but after watching lecture and reading your post I am not too sure. I think that maybe the goal of the author was to comment on the nature of storytelling and how subjective it can be?

    Thanks for your post!

    Like

  3. Katyayani Singh Avatar
    Katyayani Singh

    Hi! I really like your post. true that the confusing narrative of whether she is writing about her past or not makes it difficult to understand what is factual and what not! this makes the novel so much more interesting

    Like

  4. Shanelle Danimae Cuevas Avatar
    Shanelle Danimae Cuevas

    Hey Rhys!

    Glad somebody else found the Shrimp Dick commentary in the novel amusing! I’m surprised you found the novel easy to comprehend! I personally found is rather difficult because the narrator often skips between experiences in her current life in Mexico City and her past life in New York. Then later on, more voices come into play with multiple narrators intersecting the same page to the point where multiple voices and stories found refuge on the same page! I, nevertheless, found myself confused a handful of times. I’d love to hear the strategies you used when reading!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started