I lie deep in the ground, far away from a man’s world

This book for me was the best one yet. I swear being able to fully understand what I am reading makes it all the more enjoyable.

In the lecture the professor talked about the power of fiction. I found it interesting that although this is obviously a work of fiction, it never felt as though it was, until I really reflected on it. I think it was the way it was written, that never made me snap back to realizing she was talking from within her grave. It felt as if it was someone alive reflecting on their past. Additionally, the fact that all she talked about were real life events, meaning they didn’t contain themes of fantasy or science fiction, which in my mind is paramount to fiction writing. It was really illuminating to hear from the lecture, that all works of non-fiction somehow hold fiction contexts or perspectives.

One of the first things I noted down when reading this short novel was the switching of narrative perspectives. It would transition from first person perspective of Ana María, to a third person perspective from a narrator. At first I found it kind of annoying because as I wrote above, it would at times kick me out of the realism or non-fictional perspective I had created in my mind. Eventually I began to enjoy the ulterior viewpoint as it would give me more context outside of Ana Maria’s frame of mind. It actually allowed me to form a better picture of her in the grave, and the other person looking down on her.

I found myself wanting to know more about the male characters in her life, and never felt like I was quite able to get enough context on them, or an understanding of truly who they were. Perhaps it is because I am a man that I crave knowing more of the male perspective; but this book creates the existence of a woman’s world, where women are explored, and seen as primary characters. I like that, because in the real world women aren’t always in the same power as men. Ana María illustrated this through her relationships with her lovers and partners, where it often felt like the power dynamic was uneven. I loved that the dynamic was changed in this book to one where the women were never quite pinned down, and held tiny freedoms within their social prisons.

The final part which I found really interesting, was when Ana María was reflecting on religion and philosophy, while she is literally lying dead in the ground. I found this moment really ironic and funny, despite the seriousness of the tone and topic. She was contemplating religion and god, while instead she could be looking at the situation she is in, as evidence that perhaps there is no god.

Question: Is dying something you fear? For me I have always welcomed the idea of dying, and this book only solidified that feeling for me. Did this book strike fear in you?

-Rhys

2 responses to “I lie deep in the ground, far away from a man’s world”

  1. Yes, Dr. Beasley-Murray’s lectures always leave us reflecting, to return to the text and read it differently! Going back to your blog, I think I understand what you’re saying about male characters. But it is precisely the play of perspectives, like veils that prevent us from seeing things completely, that I find most interesting about the novel. I’m glad you enjoyed the book, but there’s also a strange pleasure in enjoying what we can’t fully understand…

    Like

  2. Hey Rhys! I also relate to what you said about the book not feeling like a work of fiction. Bombal wrote it in such a way that felt so real, that I sometimes forgot that it was a deceased woman’s thoughts. It’s almost as if you get lost in the writing and your own thoughts and comparisons while reading it. The sense of reflection and introspection is definitely what made the book an enjoyable read for me.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started